Armenian armed forces have broken the ceasefire with Azerbaijan 37 times in numerous positions in the last 30 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry reported on April 16.
Azerbaijani positions also took fire from the positions located near the villages of Talysh, Gulustan of the Goranboy district, Chileburt, Geyarkh, Chayli of the Terter district, Shuraabad, Yusifjanli of the Aghdam district, Horadiz, Garakhanbeyli, Ashagi Seyidahmadli of the Fizuli district, Kuropatkino of the Khojavend district and Mehdili of the Jabrayil district.
Moreover, Azerbaijani positions underwent fire from the positions located on the nameless heights of Goranboy, Khojavend, Fizuli districts.
The enemy was silenced with return fire.
The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.
The two countries signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, Russia, France and the US are currently holding peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented the UN Security Council’s four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.