MANILA, 30th May, 2016 (WAM)–The Philippine parliament today officially declared Rodrigo Duterte to be the president to replace Benigno Aquino, who second term in office expired.

Duterte 71, won a landslide victory in the presidential election this month, taking about six million votes more than his closest competitor. The tough-talking mayor of Davao won on a strident anti-crime platform, promising to wipe out crime in months.