ISLAMABAD, 18th December, 2015 (WAM): Pakistan’s State Minister for Interior Balighur Rehman presented on Friday a list of 61 banned militant, sectarian and extremist outfits in the country before the Senate, the Upper House, according to Pakistani media reports.

According to the updated list, Lashkar-e-Jhangvi, Sepah-e-Muhammad Pakistan, Jaish-e-Muhammad, Tehreek-e-Nifaz Shariat-e-Muhammadi, Tehreek-e-Islami, Sepah-e-Sahaba Pakistan, Tehreek-e-Jafaria Pakistan, Jamat-ud-Dawa, Balochistan Republican Army, Lashkar-e-Balochistan, al Qaeda and Daesh are among those 61 banned organisations.

The minister of state told the Upper House that provincial governments have been directed to take steps against such organisations and make sure no such outfits re-emerge with a different name. He maintained that the interior ministry is constantly updating the list to take measures against extremism in the country.

He informed the Senate that 637 terrorists had been killed and 710 others arrested in 1,113 terrorism related incidents across the country during the current year so far.