ABU DHABI, 16th January 2017 (WAM) – The United Arab Emirates and the Republic of Costa Rica have signed a protocol to amend the agreement of mutual exemption from the pre-entry visa requirements for the holders of the diplomatic and special passports from the two countries.

The amendment was made to add a clause on mutual exemption from pre-entry visa for holders of ordinary and special mission passports.

The protocol was signed today by H.H. Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, and Manuel Gonzalez Sanz, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Costa Rica.

Following the signing, Sheikh Abdullah emphasised the importance of strengthening UAE’s bilateral relations with Costa Rica.

Sanz praised his country’s progressive ties with the UAE.