NEW YORK, -- The United Kingdom will officially hold the United Nations Security Council, UNSC, Presidency, replacing Ukraine, starting from today.

Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security, all member states are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

According to the Petra News Agency, the UN body has 15 members, and each member has one vote. The permanent members of the council, known as the "Permanent Big Five", includes China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, while the ten non-permanent members, elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly, include Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine, Chad, Uruguay, New Sweden, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Italy and Kazakhstan.

The Security Council is one of the six main organs of the UN, along with the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice and the UN Secretariat.

Source: Emirates News Agency