NEW YORK, 1st November, 2015 (WAM) — The UK today officially assumed the Presidency of the UN Security Council, from Spain, for the month of November.

Under the Charter of the United Nations, the Security Council’s primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. All UN member states should comply with the resolutions of the Council.

The Council includes 15 members, with each member having one vote, including five permanent members which have the right to veto, being China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States.